A well preserved rampant over the port called Bourzti
(Arabs used to call the coastwise outworks that they built to protect the entrance of the port) is located in an area of 400
cm on the eastern side of the town.
It is built with marbles and limestone’s in an hexagonal horseshoe shape .It is thought that it was constructed in the mid 13th
century by Frank and Venice dominants.
The low vaulting gateway that moors the iron door is typical of this construction.
Over the doorway there is a hole through which they prevented enemies from invasion by pouring boiling oil.
In the southern and eastern sides that both overlook the sea are the rampant.
It is of two storey including a patio.
Bourtzi is well preserved and during the summer months exhibits are held that promote art and culture in awesome surroundings.
In the location of the castle as it is today a fortress was built so that the residents of Karystos
back in 1030
A.D. to protect themselves from the bloodthirsty pirates that devastated the Aegean
It is said that it was named after the Indian red color of its walls. It became the apple of discord of several conquerors and played an important role in the history of the city
The castle is accessible as the road from Karystos
to the village of Miloi
ends near the main entrance. When we reach the precinct of the castle we can leave the car and continue on foot.
After we ascend from the side of the ruined wall, we walk under the pines towards the eastern side of the castle.
The elevation is 350m
and the view to the gulf of Karystos is breathtaking.
Don't forget to visit it ...